Beauty and the Beast

Well, first off, if you have not watched the movie, DO NOT CONTINUE reading. I would give a lot of disclaimers because I can’t seem to sleep it off another night. Again DO NOT CONTINUE READING. But if you watched the movie, feel free to read and maybe we have same insights of the movie.

Beauty-and-the-beast-disney

Maybe this is my first movie review in writing. And I am just a regular viewer. I seldom watch movies. I am not a real movie critic.

I love Beauty and the Beast. I watched it many times as a kid. I bought many cd’s and DVD’s and watched it over and over. I watched the play and still amaze on “BE my Guest”. I still get goosebumps when I hear the song “Beauty and the Beast”. I find myself singing with it. My next one is Snow White because of the seven dwarfs and “Hi-Ho, Hi-HO”. OH I love Dopey. When everyone is so in love with Cinderella and her castle, I barely care especially that blue dress gown she had. Who cares about the Prince? Well, this is not about them. This is about Belle, the weird, strange lady from the village. and the Beast.

I always believe that there is always something good on everyone. No matter how ugly one can be, there is something good on this person. He couldn’t be all that bad. Second chances. Trust. Choosing kindness despite.

beauty-and-beast-2017-3

When the news came out that my all time favorite Disney movie will come into life, I was so elated. Finally. They had Rapunzel, Alice in Wonderland, Snow White and Cinderella of course, portrayed into movies, they seemingly forget Beauty and the Beast. But Spring 2017 is the day. And who doesn’t love Hermione Granger? I saw her grew up in Harry Potter, again one of my fave series movies/ book. She couldn’t be the perfect character. It’s her time to be given a chance to be other than Hermione Granger.

Months before the movie was shown, some well known critics have said that Emma Watson doesn’t fit to be Belle. And I just shrugged off this idea. For me, she is just perfect. This is Emma Watson. Hermione Granger. And the teaser came out.

“You can talk?”

And then of course there are these gay issues by more critics that came out prior to release of the movie. That it would not be good for kids and blah blah because Lefou is gay.. That there was a scene that Gaston and Lefou’s faces are too close to each other, they seem like they will be kissing each other. Baloney.

Well, here’s to the second scene, where Belle is coming out to this little town singing. It doesn’t seem like Emma Watson singing the song. Oh I love the secondary characters. They spent a lot of money dressing them up. They really look like the one from the old movie. They did very well. But Belle, her face doesn’t fit. The eye expression that should show more desire of progress on her little town.

Oh Gaston! I never find him good looking then but on this movie, he is so handsome #pogialert. How could he be? And when he sang, he hit all the notes. I love the part when he was saying words of praise, only to find out he is talking to himself in the mirror. This is a funny part of the movie.

Lefou was portrayed to be gay, showing admirations to Gaston, telling the three ladies that they will never had a chance to Gaston. I remember on the old movie, Lefou’s eyes twinkle whenever he look at Gaston. He idolized him a lot. I still love the song “Gaston”. I guess because he is gay in this movie, so he talks so soft. I think Josh Gad made justice to Lefou. The loyalty to Gaston and trying to do what is right. You can see it in the movie. The gay issues is not really noticeable if you don’t think about it.

And so Belle entered the castle. She seemed not scared. I saw Hermione Granger trying to fight, seek Voldemort. I didn’t see a different Emma Watson here. She’s like “I am ready to fight you, whoever you are”.

“Be my Guest”. Aren’t you supposed to be surprised on all these plates flying around? Where is the face? The amusement on Belle’s eyes? Where is “WOW”. She was just smiling there. It’s like “Okay, you fly. someone is singing”. She was not fed in the movie. They took the steak even before the first bite. Then they gave her a little cake. Oh well, guess that’s how it supposed to but WHY is she not amazed?? The secondary characters are amazing. They did a fantastic job. The production is well played. The song is still enchanting. The cakes and candles and feathers and what not are all “wow”. Except for Belle.

The library scene. At start of the movie she went on the village library with only 5, maybe 10 books. And Belle was shown this huge library, and she just STANDS there. She didn’t even touch the books? The face again of amusements and wonder? “WOW”. She didn’t climb the ladder and see what kind of books are there. She was given this how many storeys library and late reaction where she just laughed?

The yellow gown. The well known yellow Beauty gown. Didn’t I say they spend a lot of money for these secondary characters dresses and they all look like the one from the old movie? How come the yellow gown looked like they didn’t have that much money anymore? SO simple with a little embellishments, its not really noticeable. I guess they layered the gown so when she twirls, it would look good. She seems like she’s going to fall anytime when she was dancing though.

And for goodness sake, isn’t she cold? Why would you come out to the veranda with just your gown on a freezing weather? NO coat, for real? And it didn’t only happen once. There were many scenes that she was wearing her blue dress outside the freezing weather with no sweater on. OKAY.

And I don’t see her eyes in love with the beast.

How come the petal fell already and it took many minutes before she said “I love you”? Well i guess, it is to show that other living creatures will turn into antiques first.

So there it is. I still love this movie. I wanted to watch it again, maybe Belle will  be better the second time. Maybe I will see what I am looking for. Otherwise, right now, the movie is so-so for me.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑