52 Week Challenge

Here we are again. The 52 week challenge. This is my third year trying to complete the 52 week challenge. I am hoping that on this third year I will be able to accomplish it with pride.

It’s been really a challenge. I thought it was easy but as months went by, I wasn’t able to fulfill the requirement of depositing money on the account.

piggyThe first year I bought a mini-bank with a lock. Told myself I will put the keys somewhere I will not see so I will not be able to open it. I think I even gave it to my mother. I decided to do a $50 dollar increment. It wasn’t a success. Money was tight. BY mid year, I asked for the key and used the money I saved for half the year.

Second year came and me and husband decided to do the challenge. We challenged ourselves more by buying a vase. It is open so we should be able to defer the temptation of getting the money since it is accessible. It was good at first. We did the reversed $50 increment. Money is great at the start of the year due to tax returns and less expenses due to winter season. We are bound to stay home and not go out. Again, midyear, we have to use the money for the bills and other expenses we eventually had.

So this is the third year. I used just an empty bottle from one of my snacks and decided I will just do a $25 weekly deposit. It wasn’t the increment type and the original way of doing the 52 weeks but I am still hoping that I would be able to finish the 52 weeks depositing twenty five dollars weekly. At the end of the year, I should be able to save $1300.

I have noticed on the last two years that I probably am being too hard on myself trying to produce a big amount of money each month to save and yet my salary wasn’t even that big. I guess I wasn’t realistic enough. At first 50 each week is easy but when the increments go up, that’s when it gets really hard to make more.

I still don’t know where I will use the money but I just wanted to be able to see if I am able to save such amount. I know I can save such amount. But I really wanted to instill discipline to myself. I am excited. So let’s see. I am hoping I could give you my best progress at the end of the year.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑